Takhomasak's Journal
Just Another Diaryland.com Journal
What If?
Mar. 18, 2003 - 3:06 AM

Well.... I officially returned to work yesterday and it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, amazingly. My manager gave me the run-around when I called at 9 yesterday morning to find out of what time I should come into work for the day, he said just come in at 3 and we'll figure out what your permanet shift will be. Well I showed up for work at around 2:50 pm and my usual desk was empty of all my belongings and I heard someone call out my name. I looked to the right of me and down the aisle of desks there were Mark and Christina (my previous supervisor). I asked of where my desk was and what I'd be doing today... because no one really told me. My supervisor came by and greeted me and lead me to my desk, sitting by familiar people (which is a plus) I looked under the desk and that's where I found my box-o-stuff. Inside I found everything but my headset. Word has it that people have been stealing other people's headsets and phones.

Go figure.

So I grab an extra headset in a box and run over to my desk before I have to clock in. I opened up the box and the headset/phone deal was ANCIENT!!! I try to log into my computer but I didn't remember my password, so I called our computer help desk department and asked to have my password re-setted. Got that done, tried the new one and it didn't work.

Go figure again.

The manager stops by my desk as he was passing out St. Patrick's Day cookies and I asked him of what I should be doing since I am unable to log into my computer and obviously not ready to take any calls. He told me to co-pilot (listen to her calls while my headset hooked up to her phone, basically) with Martha all day. It was pretty fun, though her and Joe are getting the Flu, I think. I hope I don't get sick anytime soon.

Remember this entry? Well I have been pursuing it more. So far I have been pre-qualified, I just need to take the ASVAB (Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery) to get job-placement and go down to the MEPS (Military Entrance Processing Station) station to get checked out. Man, I just got done reading the list of things to bring and not to bring once I am sworn in.... I have chills running up and down my spine.

I'm so scared.

I wished I had someone my age and available enough to talk to about this AF stuff. I really hate hiding this from others because I am proud to even be thinking about this but also scared out of my mind. Let's just say I got in and my technical training has finished, what if I had to go to War?

Past Five:
12 May 2006 * Workaholic
16 April 2006 * It's Easter!
20 March 2006 * And she comes back
07 January 2006 * Starting over, elsewhere. I think.
02 January 2006 * Face your fears