Takhomasak's Journal
Just Another Diaryland.com Journal
Average Day of a CSR
October 02, 2001 - 11:52 PM

I'm so tired of people treating me like crap.

Oh its not the usual "I hate my father" junk, its the crap I have to deal with at work.

Me: In Home Service, my name is Nicole, what product may I assist with you today?
Customer: (Annoyed voice) *Sighs* Frigidaire
Me: Refridgerator?
Customer: Ya
Me: May I have your phone number starting with your area code?
Customer: Why do you need my phone number? I just need my fridge fixed!!
Me: It is part of the scheduling for service process, Ma'am.
Customer: Fine.
Me: May I have your phone number please?
Customer: 555-5555
Me: And what is your area code?
Customer: 000
Me: Could I have the spelling of your last name please?
Customer: J "as in John" O "as in Oscar" N "as in Nancy" E "as in uh.... Edward" S "as in snake"
Me: And could I have the spelling of your first name Ms. Jones?
Customer: I'm married.
Me: I apologize Mrs. Jones, could I have the spelling of your first name?
Customer: Debra
Me: Okay, and that's spelt: D-E-B-R-A?
Customer: *Annoying Sigh* Yes...
Me: Mrs. Jones, do you have your reciept with you?
Customer: What receipt?
Me: The store receipt, for your refridgerator.
Customer: *Nervous Laugh* Oh.. yes, I do.
Me: Okay. Now I'm going to get some product information from you. What is the purchase price of the refridgerator before taxes?
Customer: Uh... where would that be at?
Me: Locate the name of your product. Follow that line all the way to the far right.
Customer: $745
Me: Thank you, Mrs. Jones.
Me: Now, locate your product again, and follow that same line all the way to the far left, and may I have that six or seven digit number?
Customer: 9753124
Me: 9-7-5-3-1-2-4?
Customer: Yes.
Me: Did you purchase a warrenty with your refridgerator?
Customer: Yes, a four year plan.
Me: Thank you, Mrs. Jones. Is your refridgerator a side-by-side?
Customer: No, its the kind where the freezer is on top and the refridgerator is on the bottom.
Me: Thank you.
Customer: You're welcome
Me: Now, why do you need service for your refridgerator?
Customer: Its leaking.
Me: Do you know from what area?
Customer: If I had known, don't you think I wouldv'e gotten it fixed by now?!?
Me: Mrs. Jones, I just need to pin-point where the refridgerator is leaking so the technician knows what to look for when he arrives.
Customer: Its in the back part, bottom of the fridge.
Me: Thank you, Mrs. Jones. Now, it'll be only a moment till I can schedule you for service.
Customer: Can I have it for tonight at 5?
Me: I apologize, but that just isn't possible. The technicians work Mondays through Saturdays and at four-hour time blocks. I can't guarrentee that you'll get a specific hour reserved, but when the technician calls to confirm with you, either the night before or the morning of, you can request a time with him.
Customer: Oh.
Me: Looks like we have an appointment available for tomorrow afternoon, 12 through 4:30 pm
Customer: Um.. Do they work Saturdays?
Me: Yes.
Customer: Okay.
Me: There's two time block appointments available for Saturday. Do you want the AM or PM time slot?
Customer: What time is it for the AM?
Me: 8-12pm
Customer: Okay, that'll be fine.
Me: Mrs. Jones, please be advised that someone 18 yrs or older must be at home at the time of the appointment...
Customer: So my 16yr old son can't be the only one there?
Me: I aplogize, but he can't.
Customer: This isn't fair. He is a very mature 16yr old.
Me: I'm sure he is, Mrs. Jones.
Customer: So Saturday morning... This Saturday?
Me: Yes, this following Saturday.
Customer: Okay.
Me: Also, Mrs. Jones, you must have your reciept and your product warrenty available for the technician.
Customer: Why?
Me: For proof that you purchased the refridgerator, and any other information he needs from it.
Customer: Oh.
Me: If you don't have that information when the technician arrives, you will have to pay the full repair amount.
Customer: Okay.
Me: Mrs. Jones, you're all set for repair on this Saturday morning. Are there any more questions, or anything else I can help you with today?
Customer: Um, not unless you want to clean my house. *Laughs*
Me: *Laughs* No thanks, Mrs. Jones. But yes, you are all set for Saturday morning. Now if you have any questions regarding your service or your plans, feel free to call us. We are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Customer: Wow, you people work Sundays?
Me: Yes.
Customer: Okay well thanks for everything, you've been a great help.
Me: Oh, you're welcome Mrs. Jones.
Customer: And what was your name again?
Me: Nicole.
Customer: What a nice name.
Me: Thank you. And Thank you for calling ________.
-Click-

Past Five:
12 May 2006 * Workaholic
16 April 2006 * It's Easter!
20 March 2006 * And she comes back
07 January 2006 * Starting over, elsewhere. I think.
02 January 2006 * Face your fears