Takhomasak's Journal
Just Another Diaryland.com Journal
Work; candles; Jarhead
Nov. 08, 2005 - 11:09 pm

Alright, it's nearing 11pm as I write this. In case you really wanted to know the time. Heh. Work tonight/today was inSANE! I mean, when I got to Job #1 (Naturium) at 11 it was pretty darn slow, but soon after it picked up a bit. I even landed a big sale which I'm still happy about.

Job #2 (Hallmark) was pretty slow as well, at first but 'round 5 it picked up a lot. It seemed as if everyone who went on break, the store filled up. That always happens. I also was training or more like guiding a new person in our store. She started last Thursday but is still really new as far as procedures goes. I close with her next week sometime. I almost can't wait. I say that because knowing my luck I'll be assigned a big job like stocking cards, that takes a long time to do... or possibly pricing items. While the new person is all alone at the registers. If she's got a question, I'll have to stop, help her, then get back to what I was doing. When I first started, they made sure there were two other people on the floor besides me so I wouldn't be alone. Now, I'm confident being by myself. But there are some instances where I don't know the answer. I mean, I haven't experienced every single situation yet, but I'm well-aware of more than just the basic things.

This weekend our Holiday Open House is happenin'. I can't wait. To get more sales in for us... I hope by Turkey Day we'll do better. I mean, even on weekends (with the exception of this past weekend) we have been pretty slow. Sad, really.

Also, I told Chuck I wouldn't buy any more candles. I promised him that. I haven't broken it or anything, just mentioning this because on Monday our store started a sale. The big 22 oz Yankee Candle jars... buy one, get one free. That has never happened to our store before, and I'm pretty happy. They usually go for $20.99 each. Great deal! But, it's so tempting. Chuck is right though, I don't need any candles.

We've been sold out of the USS Enterprise ornament for awhile now and guess what I found while sorting through the messed up ornament section tonight? Yep, Enterprise! haha! I took off the 'Sold Out' sign and put it on the shelf. Hopefully it'll be snatched up soon. It's the last in stock of all of our stores (within our chain anyway). Yay!

My bus pass came in the mail today. Yay, no more having to pay $1 each time I want to ride the bus. It's only $25 for a month's worth and I ride the bus at least 25 days out of the month anyway, so why not?

I so need to re-design this journal, but eh. I need to have a few hours set aside for it. Using this Mac it's a big different than a Windows computer for obvious reasons, as well as it's a bit harder to code html too.

I'm just totally exhausted right now. I mean, if I could lay my head down right now, I'd fall asleep. No joke.

I was invited to a get-together party thing later this month. It's more like a 'tupperware party' but for candles. Yes.. candles! I won't buy any though. I've heard they're pretty expensive.

We watched Jarhead on Saturday night after I got off work. Great movie! Lots of vulgarity but so worth it. It's also more-so a guy movie if you haven't caught that yet from the previews, but I enjoyed it.

I really need to organize my files on this computer. When I usually save files, I don't even look at the folder it's going into or I see it but I don't give it much thought.

Alright, I know it's still early (for me anyway) to go to bed but I'm really... really tired. I should be able to post another entry tomorrow morning before I go to work, not sure entirely what I'd write about. If nothing, I won't write anything obviously. :) G'night ya'll.

Past Five:
12 May 2006 * Workaholic
16 April 2006 * It's Easter!
20 March 2006 * And she comes back
07 January 2006 * Starting over, elsewhere. I think.
02 January 2006 * Face your fears