Takhomasak's Journal
Just Another Diaryland.com Journal
No Pain, No Gain
2004-02-07 - 23:12

Katie did make it home in time this morning to take me to the base. We parked in the little parking lot of the registration office beside of the front gate entrance to wait for my Station Commander. I didn't know of which vehicle he drove, so we just waited like two minutes then I decided to call my recruiter. They usually don't work Saturdays except by appointment only, still I was hesitant to call. Well, I called him up and said where I was. He said "oh, he isn't there, but let me go ahead and call him to find out where he's out for ya." I said, "Oh, okay. Cool." About a minute later the Station Commander called and said he is in fact in the parking lot and asked of which car I'm in. I said the black Neon and he said "Oh, I'm just two cars from you! Go ahead and pack up and climb in my truck and we'll head to the gym."

We parted ways. He went to go running and we walked into the tredmill room. I ran 6 minutes straight on one of those step...tredmills but it doesn't automatically step for you, you make it go. I just couldn't do the full 15 minutes needed. It was mortifying. I thought "Am I this bad?" I guess I am.. Then Katie told me to get on the ground and do some sit-ups. I couldn't even do one. ONE. How sad. Then she said to do push-ups. No go. Not even like a half push up. I told her usually before I do any exercising I do some warm-up stretches. I did a few lasting about five minutes total. Then we tried some weights. I sat down and had to push this thing forward then back towards me. The minimum weight limit was 20 lbs. Ack! I tried it once and needed help from Katie. She said, "lets try the one where you pull it down." I wasn't too thrilled but hey, no pain no gain. Did it once and it was simple. Beyond the point of simple. I'm serious. And also the min weight limit was 20lbs too. I did three sets of 12 pulls on that one. Then went back to the previous one. Still the 20lbs set.. tried it once and I got it. I also did three sets of that. Believe me, by the time I was done with those, my upper body was stinging so bad.

She showed me of how to properly do crunches. All this time, (since October) I have been doing them improperly. I told her I've been doing the side ones. Where you twist your lower half of your body to one side and you do a crunch. She said that..that sort of stretch is for more advanced users. She told me to stick with the traditional. Also pointed out that the more correct crunches I do, the sooner I can do sit-ups.

I just feel like a total slacker. I mean, I am for waiting till the last month before I ship out to really exercise. But it isn't like I have never excersised in my life. Actually, up until I moved here I was in complete perfect shape. I do feel better about myself. I am going to stick to this. I can't quit, or say that I can't. I've got to. A lot of things are riding on me getting into the USAF.

My Station Commander mentioned on the drive back through the front gate after the Gym Experience that USAF BMT isn't that all physical. It's more mental. I chimed in "Unless you're out of shape to begin with." He said "yeah, but you've got time."

From all this 'griping' I'd say I'm a pessimist (sp?). Anyone else agree?

Past Five:
12 May 2006 * Workaholic
16 April 2006 * It's Easter!
20 March 2006 * And she comes back
07 January 2006 * Starting over, elsewhere. I think.
02 January 2006 * Face your fears