Takhomasak's Journal
Just Another Diaryland.com Journal
Bad Behavior
2001-08-22 - 10:04 p.m.

(The following is another column Chris wrote recently)

Today's column is going to be unusual for two reasons: One, because now I'm going to rant about my life and two, because it's going to be as shorter column.

Relationships, especially long-term ones, are very tediuos, tough both mentally and physically, require active participation from praties that have a strong commitment, and an underlying desire to make things work no matter what happens.

This basically describes the relationship that I have with my fiancee, Nicki. She and I are dedicated for life to each other. We love one another to death and only God himself could change it, although He would seriously have to put some effort into it. No one really knows, like in all successful relationships and marriages, the hard work, blood, sweat, and tears that help build the foundation and stabilize us.

My point is that it's tough enough to really make it work the way you want it to without outside intervention. I hate to type this, because the actions of the soon-to-be-mentioned parties is totally despiciable and reprehensible.

My parents have been totally supportive of my relationship with Nicki. In fact, they've been supportive of all my brother's and sister's relationships. My father is a deeply religious man, and yet he keeps his mouth shut about the fact that Nicki and I live together and one can image what must sometimes happen because she and I sleep in the same bed. In fact, I think he pretty much thinks of me and her as married. I wish it was true.

My mother thinks that it's the greatest thing that hapened to me that I'm in love with Nicki. I've never once heard her complain about anything at all. And if she has, I applaud her ability to keep such things private. However, I wish I could say the same about Nicki's family.

Her mother, when Nicki and I first moved in, was totally against the idea, even though she let me sleep in her house at Nicki's side. She would constantly drive on the little things that annoyed her about living here, such as being away from friends and family and in a new state. Her father eventually jumped in on this, although his new wife has now convinced him to put a sock in his mouth about it. Nicki's mother's attacks quite honestly almost convinced her to just flat out take the car and drive back to her "home" in Indiana.

I find this totally irresponsible because this is not what a mother is supposed to do. This kind of behavior would only be warranted in cases where genuine abuse was occuring. I can confidently state that such a situation does not exist because I have let Nicki have access to the car and money anytime she wants. In fact, her name is on the checking account, giving her full access to money if she needs it. I have not forced Nicki to stay inside all the time. I have encouraged her to seek out new friends and get to know my family. Nicki now has several friends at work and has been "adopted" by my family, especially my little sister Katie.

If it wasn't for the intervention of my friend Michelle I could also state that I would be single right now. Originally from Canada, she helped talk Nicki into calming down and adapting to her new, temporary, surroundings. Nicki has since rejected her mother's attacks and behavior for this and a variety of other reasons. Once she realized that Nicki was no longer listening, for now, she slacked off. But now Nicki's sister has taken up the fight.

Come on! Can't someone expect the unconditional love and support from your family? Is this really such an old-fasioned idea?! Have we no decency here! Is it really so hard to just let people learn on their own if it's a mistake, and just be there for them incase they need to escape? Can't we just be proud of a family member who believes that she has found "the one?" Give me a break. Makes me wonder if I even want them invited to our wedding without a signed statement promising them to behave themselves. It really is a sad thing when adults act like children.

Past Five:
12 May 2006 * Workaholic
16 April 2006 * It's Easter!
20 March 2006 * And she comes back
07 January 2006 * Starting over, elsewhere. I think.
02 January 2006 * Face your fears