Takhomasak's Journal
Just Another Diaryland.com Journal
The Wedding Day
Tuesday, Jan. 01, 2002 - 11:20 AM

It has been awhile since I last updated, but I honestly did not have the time. Which is ironic because before this wedding stuff, I didn't know what to do with all the time I had. :)

Anyway, yep, I'm married to wonderful Chris now. Dude, last night was crazy...not the actual wedding but the events that led up to it and afterwards. Lets just say a couple people got plastered, and it wasn't me. Heh.

I woke up yesterday morning around 7:11. I was meaning to get up at 7, but Chris didn't check the alarm clock, if he did, he would notice it was set for 7:30. Anyway, I took my shower, still groggy from that sleeping pill I took a night before. But good thing I was in no way anxious or nervous. I woke up Chris around 8:15 for him to drop me off at his parents house so I could try on the dress with everything on (i.e: jewerly, shoes, earrings). I arrived at his parents house, and rushed into the Shop where all the dress and sewing stuff is at and changed into my dress. At that time, I was still groggy, but had no breakfast so I warned Lauren if I tip over... haha, to catch me. She asked if I wanted some cereal before we get started but I said no, I'll be fine. I'm a moron. If I had known I wasn't going to get anymore food in my system until 12:00, I would've had some cereal.

So I stepped onto the stool covered with a sheet so that Lauren could pin the dress to hem it. The top of the stool where I was standing on was so small, I had to get Sara to hold my hand to turn around. Heh.

About an hour and a half later and two changes into the dress, I could get a picture of me and Chris and cut it out to fit it into the cake topper. I wanted a better one, but the one of me and Chris at a friends house will do. Vee had to get an empty Pepsi can to draw around the picture so it could fit into the cake topper-frame. I plopped down the can on the picture, and guesstimated measured around mine and Chris's head, and drew the outline of the can onto the picture. I was too anxious to cut the picture so Linda did it for me. Haha. Knowing me, I'd cut the picture in half.

I walked into Laurens' office to check for more songs for the reception. Classcial is the theme, since my dress is a Victorain style. I came up with seven more songs, and gave them to Linda. She then walked into the house, and put them next to the stereo in the kitchen. I couldn't go in because its bad luck for the Groom and Bride to see each other.

Bad luck. Ha. I laugh at it. It could kiss my ass. Screw you bad luck!

Hmm, I think about twenty minutes after the music thing, Me, Linda and my maid of honor, Veronica all went to IGA to pick up the rolls (six dozen...good smelling rolls), Wendy's (because we were starving to death) but then I was just trying to calm down and Veronica was telling me of allt he bad stuff that was going on. Anyone else agree that the Maid of Honor is supposed to keep the Bride happy? Blah. So after Wendy's they dropped me off at Laurens again so I could grab my back pack and car keys and drive myself back to my apartment to rest. I told them to follow me, but the way that they (the car) was positioned on the driveway, they had to go first. Gah. (I'm a major speed demon, and a that time I just wanted to drive very fast to the apartment. But I'm kinda glad that I was forced to follow them.) So we got on the oneway, heading east and at the first stop light that we're supposed to turn right on, Linda kept going straight. But I turned. Ha. (Man, I thought they were going to get lost. But good thing they had a map handy.) I headed down to 10th Ave South -the main road that runs through our town - and got in the middle lane to go straight into my apartment complex and in my rearview mirror I see Linda and Vee's red car driving oh so slowly up the hill and then behind me. Haha... It was great. I drove into my little driveway and finally to the front door, unlocked the door and walked up to my door. Chris had accidently locked the top lock. He knows not to do that because its very hard to unlock it. So after five minutes of Vee and I trying to unlock it, we got it. Haha. I gave her some supplies she needed to get her hair/makeup done, and they were on their way.

I called my mom and she told me to take a nap. I told her I wasn't tired, but she knew better. Mom's always know better. She knew I was nervous and anxious and sleep would make it all go away. So I plopped down on the couch and fell asleep.

About an hour later, I got dressed and spruced myself up. Katie called from Vee's hotel room to make sure I was up and head over there to get my hair/makeup done. I didn't have the ribbon that we were planning to fix my hair with, so I wasn frantically asking Katie if she had it, and she said no. Crap. So I called Lauren and what do you know, she had it. I told her that it'll take me about ten minutes to get there, because I'll have to warm the car up. About ten minutes later, I arrived at Lauren's to pick up the ribbon, and she told me not to to worry about seeing Chris because he's sleeping in the basement. Sveet.

I drove to Vee's hotel. I didn't have a room card so I stood in one of the side entrances for a moment then Katie came walking up the door and let me in. We walked fast upstairs to Vee's room and I plopped my stuff on her bed and tried to get myself adjusted to the warm room.

I sat down on the chair facing the dressingroom type table and calmed down. Katie started to get to work with my hair. About half-way through my hair, we finally noticed that I needed to take off my undershirt and just leave my v-neck sweater on, so it'll be easier to take off once my hair/makeup is all done. So I took that Eh?!? shirt off and left that bright orange v-neck sweater on. (I won't say much about the makeup thing, because well, I don't remember much of it.)

We got all of our bags ready and left the hotel. Katie, Vee and Me got into my car and started the car. It wouldn't blow the heat, play the radio, nothing. The battery wasn't working. Crap. Shitcrap. So I just sat there like a moron and pretended to know what I was doing. Waited for the temperature of the car to reach the 100 mark. Katie and Vee were tired of waiting, and that's okay, but I knew better. I knew this car could go ka-put anytime when its cold. I turned off the engine, and waited a moment, and turned it back on. Still no luck. Haha. Ugh. The windshield had ice on it. I brought out the de-icer spray, and sprayed the windshield from outside. Duh Nicki. It won't do anything till the wipers will work. I still pretended to know know what the hell I was doing. In all reality, I didn't. But all I knew is that to wait till it went over the 100 mark to do anything else for the car to warm up. So I turned off the engine again, the back on and everything started to work. I wanted to yell out "God doesn't hate me!!" but I know how uncomfy Vee would be. Or she'd give me a look that she could kill with. Eventually I got onto a one-way, but nearly got hit by some idiot flying into the street. Gah. Katie and Vee said that he didn't have his turn signal on. Go figure.

Finally arrived safely to Lauren's and ran into Katie's room in the basement where we could finally change into our dresses. At that time I didn't know that I look that good..... no no, I looked REALLY good. But to me, it looked like I just had makeup on. It didn't hit me until after the fact.

About an hour later, my mom came downstairs with Jim to see me. They both hugged me and my mom put my necklace on and helped with the stud earrings. She noticed that I was shaking, but it wasn't from anxiety, it was from the cold air blowing into the room. I asked her if there was any food upstairs, because I haven't had dinner yet. She went upstairs to get me some food. Jim stayed behind with me to calm my nerves down and to talk. Matt came down and hugged and congradulated me. How sweet of him. Sara came down a bit later and did the same. My mom came down with a plate of salad covered in Ranch dressing and some cheese balls. Sveet! Fifteen minutes till. I wasn't nervous too much, but everyone else was for me. Jen came by and hugged/congradulated me. Sara said that she was more nervous than me.

Five minutes till. My dad came downstairs with Veronica. Huston (the pastor performing the marriage came downstairs a little after told us to congregate in the kitchen. We walked upstairs. My dad had to hold my bouquet (its one of those that lay in your arm, and they drape down) while I walked up the stairs. As we got upstairs, I took the bouquet from my dads' arms and put it in my right arm.

Time to go. Vee walked down, I'm sure she was nervous. My dad peeked around the corner to make sure Vee made it all the way to the alter. I put my left arm around my dads right, and carefully walked down the diagnal aisle towards the alter. At that time, I was more nervous of tripping and falling than the actual ceremony itself. As we were walking down though, I could silently hear people say "Ohh...wow.." at me. It was freaky but yet nice. A bit scary though. We reached the alter. (We went down the wrong way. I was supposed to be on his left. Damnit.) So we bummped into each other as I was trying to move to the left where Veronica was. (Gah.) I stood in front of Vee and got into position when my Dad came over and kissed me and breathed more into my face. I'm sorry but dad, ever heard of a breath mint? (Damn.)

Finally, Huston started to talk. (I wanted it to be over... I wanted him to pronounce us Husband and Wife, I wanted the ring on my finger, I wanted Chris me. I wanted to hug Chris.) I listened to every word that he said, though, honestly. A few moments later, we were Husband and Wife. We kissed, the audience smiled and I'm sure my mom was crying. I was too nervous to cry. Too happy to cry. I just stared into Chris's eyes.

*****
I'm going to finish this up later, its already after 11am, I need breakfast.
*****

The pictures will be posted after they get developed and I sift through the embarassing ones... :)

Past Five:
12 May 2006 * Workaholic
16 April 2006 * It's Easter!
20 March 2006 * And she comes back
07 January 2006 * Starting over, elsewhere. I think.
02 January 2006 * Face your fears