Takhomasak's Journal
Just Another Diaryland.com Journal
Kids These Days...
Apr. 12, 2002 - 9:53 PM

While I was lugging the heavy laundry basket full of clean but yet damp clothes up to my apartment building, a girl asked me if there's a phone nearby she could use. I told her that there's one across the street at the gas station but not around here. She looked in that direction then with pleading eyes, looked at me. She looked young, 15 or 16 so I told her that she could borrow mine.

Hoping I wouldn't trip up the stairs like I usually do (the steps are spaced too close together), I finally reached my door, unlocked it and remembered that I hadn't cleaned the living room yet. Crap. So I told the girl that today was my day off, and still in the middle of cleaning the apartment. She didn't say anything so I searched frantically for the phone. We only have one phone, a cordless. And it was on the futon hidden under a pillow. Naturally. I handed her the phone, showed her how to use and she was on the phone, talking.

Ten minutes later, more talking.

Twenty minutes later, still talking.

I got aggrivated because I thought she'd be here for only a few minutes to arrange for someone to pick her up. From what I heard of the converstion, she lived over two hours away, but lived here at my apartment building with her aunt. I stood in the living room, about six feet from her, with my arms folded and my right foot tapping the carpeting hoping that she'd get the hint that she's been on the phone for a bit too long. I told her that I would be leaving in less than ten minutes to pick up my husband from work. She rolled her eyes and continuted talking on the phone to her boyfriend (?) or friends' mom. I walked up closer to her and she did get the hint and hung up on the guy.

She overstayed her welcome and that was it.

To be a little courteous, I told her that I hope she got home safely, and she slammed the door behind her.

Brat.

Past Five:
12 May 2006 * Workaholic
16 April 2006 * It's Easter!
20 March 2006 * And she comes back
07 January 2006 * Starting over, elsewhere. I think.
02 January 2006 * Face your fears